First offense for drunk driving can be bewildering

On Behalf of Sanchez Burke, LLC

It is known that drinking and driving in Louisiana don’t mix. Most people are confident that they can have one or two drinks in an evening and still be fine. People have different tolerances for alcohol, however, and it can be difficult to judge. A man was arrested on a recent Saturday night and charged with drunk driving.

He had been driving along the highway when he was struck from behind by another vehicle. The impact of the collision caused the vehicle, a Jeep, to lose control, go into a ditch and hit an embankment. There were four other people in the Jeep, one adult and three children. They were reportedly not wearing seat belts, and one of the children was critically injured. The driver and the other three passengers all sustained minor injuries, and all five people were transported to an area hospital.

The driver reportedly agreed to a blood alcohol test which was reported as being at 0.115. The man, a 67-year-old, has been charged with driving while intoxicated, five counts of vehicular negligent injury, reckless operation and failure to wear a seatbelt. It was his first DWI offense.

A charge of drunk driving, particularly a first offense, can leave a person with many questions and few answers. A charge of drunk driving carries two possible penalties in Louisiana: the DWI charge and also the possibility of having one’s license suspended. A person has the right to challenge the suspension within the 15 days following the charge. A knowledgeable attorney can assist a person in such a position by informing one of what rights he or she is entitled to under the law and by helping to protect those rights throughout the legal process.

Recent Posts